Directory

For general inquiries, please email ggbc@uga.edu.

Leadership

35430-017.dng
Director

Dr. Magdy Alabady
Senior Research Faculty – Scientist
Dept. Plant Biology
110 Riverbend Rd, Rm 102
Athens, GA 30602
malabady@uga.edu
(706) 542-6877 (voice)
(706) 542-6414 (fax)

Operations Team

Myriam Directory

Dr. Myriam Bélanger
Operations Manager
Senior Research Scientist
Dept. Infectious Diseases
110 Riverbend Rd, Room 161
Athens, GA 30602
belanger@uga.edu
(706) 542-0273 (voice)
(706) 542-6414 (fax)

Kim Kelly

Kim Kelley
Sr. Budget Analyst
110 Riverbend Rd., Room 161
Athens, GA 30602
klkelley@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)
(706) 542-6414 (fax)

Hours: Monday, Tuesday 8:00 am-5:00 pm
Wednesday 8:00 am-11:30 am

Elizabeth Ashworth

Elizabeth Ashworth, B.A.
Administrative Assistant
110 Riverbend Rd., Room 161
Athens, GA 30602
eashwort@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)
(706) 542-6414 (fax)

Genomics Team

Kateryna

Kateryna Stoianova, B.S.
Genomics Professional
kstoianova@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Imtiaj

Imtiaj Bhuiyan, B.S., MPH
Genomics Specialist
imtiaj@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

LouiseLayman (3)

K. Louise Layman B.A., M.A.
Genomics Specialist
louise.layman@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Alexis Lambert (2)

Alexis Lambert, B.S.
Genomics Specialist
Alexis.Lambert@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

KaitlynCampHeadshot

Kaitlyn Camp, B.S.
Genomics Specialist
knc64920@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Ethan

Ethan Baldwin, B.S.
Doctoral Student and Research Assistant
ethan.baldwin@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Bioinformatics Team

Walt_Lorenz

Dr. Walt Lorenz
Bioinformatics Lead
wlorenz@uga.edu
(706) 542-7974 (voice)
(706) 542-1738 (fax)

Jiazhang

Jiazhang Cai
Bioinformatics Specialist
Ph.D. Student
jc27544@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Interns

 

IMG_2661 (2)

Misha Ul-Islam
GGBC Intern
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Carolyn

Carolyn Justifus
GGBC Intern
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Payments and Invoices

University of Georgia arch with shield favicon

Austin Swanson
Accountant
385 Will Hunter Rd.
Athens, GA 30602
austin.swanson@uga.edu
(706) 542-2511 (voice)

University of Georgia arch with shield favicon

Chris Smith
Manager
385 Will Hunter Rd.
Athens, GA 30602
cjsmith@uga.edu
(706) 542-2411 (voice)

Former Employees & Interns

Roger Nilsen

Roger Nilsen
Laboratory Manager
rnilsen@uga.edu

Katherine Sanlin

Katherine Hardigree
Laboratory Technician 
kcsand@uga.edu

Estenfania Olivar

Estefania Olivar
Laboratory Technician 

 

IMG_0286

Abby Polakovic
GGBC Intern

 

35709-007.dng

Marissa Howard
Laboratory Manager
mahoward@uga.edu

35176-012.dng

Noah Workman
Laboratory Manager

garrett_cooper3

Garrett Cooper
GGBC Intern
garrett.cooper@emory.edu

 

Randy Kim (2)

Randy Kim
GGBC Intern
RandyKim@uga.edu

35959-008.dng

Tyler Simmonds
Laboratory Manager

Portrait of Meghana Patel.

Meghana Patel, M.S.
Laboratory Technician

36030-017.dng

Julia Portocarrero, B.A.
Laboratory Technician

Studio Portrait of Casey Morrow.

Casey Morrow, B.S.
Laboratory Technician
cbmorrow@uga.edu

Screenshot_20200517-154858_Gallery

Miranda Crider
Laboratory Technician

Wang-Zengyan2

Zengyan Wang
Bioinformatics Specialist
zhyw86@gmail.com

23A953BE-9E31-4FC3-8311-60D94E34FDA7

Grace Rountree
GGBC Intern

IMG_8290

Ariel Caudle
GGBC Intern

Alaa pic (2)

Dr. Alaa Ahmed
Genomics Research Associate

Lovepreet (2)

Lovepreet Chahal, M.S.
Genomics Specialist

Portrait of Mengrui Zhang

Dr. Mengrui Zhang
Bioinformatics Specialist

Helen Foster (2)

Helen Foster
GGBC Intern

901377a1-7114-44b2-826f-e16897ed78e0 (1)

Iqra Mohsin
GGBC Intern

Photo

Katherine Ferguson, B.S.
Genomics Specialist

Former Directors

Jim Leebens-Mack

Dr. Jim Leebens-Mack
Professor
Dept. Plant Biology
2502 Miller Plant Sciences
Rm 2101
Athens, GA 30602
jleebensmack@plantbio.uga.edu
(706) 583-5573 (voice)
(706) 542-1805 (fax)

University of Georgia researcher Bob Schmitz

Dr. Bob Schmitz
Professor
Genetics
B414B Davison Life Sciences
Athens, GA 30602
schmitz@uga.edu
(706) 542-1887