Directory

For general inquiries, please email ggbc@uga.edu.

Leadership

35430-017.dng
Director

Dr. Magdy Alabady
Associate Research Scientist
Dept. Plant Biology
110 Riverbend Rd, Rm 102
Athens, GA 30602
malabady@uga.edu
(706) 542-6877 (voice)
(706) 542-6414 (fax)

University of Georgia researcher Bob Schmitz
Advisor

Dr. Bob Schmitz
Associate Professor
Genetics
B414B Davison Life Sciences
Athens, GA 30602
schmitz@uga.edu
(706) 542-1887

Operations Team

Myriam Directory

Dr. Myriam Bélanger
Operations Manager
Senior Research Scientist
Dept. Infectious Diseases
110 Riverbend Rd, Room 161
Athens, GA 30602
belanger@uga.edu
(706) 542-0273 (voice)
(706) 542-6414 (fax)

Kim Kelly

Kim Kelley
Sr. Budget Analyst
110 Riverbend Rd., Room 161
Athens, GA 30602
klkelley@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)
(706) 542-6414 (fax)

Hours: Tuesday, Wednesday 8:00 am-5:00 pm
Thursday 8:00 am-11:30 am

Elizabeth Ashworth

Elizabeth Ashworth, B.A.
Administrative Assistant
110 Riverbend Rd., Room 161
Athens, GA 30602
eashwort@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)
(706) 542-6414 (fax)

Sequencing Team

35959-008.dng

Tyler Simmonds, B.S.
Laboratory Manager
tsim0604@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

36030-017.dng

Julia Portocarrero, B.A.
Laboratory Technician
jportocarrero@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Kateryna

Kateryna Stoianova, B.S.
Laboratory Technician
kstoianova@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Studio Portrait of Casey Morrow.

Casey Morrow, B.S.
Laboratory Technician
cbmorrow@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Meghana (3)

Meghana Patel, M.S.
Laboratory Technician
Meghana.Patel@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Bioinformatics Team

Lorenz-Walt-200X200

Dr. Walt Lorenz
Bioinformatics Lead
wlorenz@uga.edu
(706) 542-7974 (voice)
(706) 542-1738 (fax)

Wang-Zengyan-200x200

Zengyan Wang
Bioinformatics Specialist
Ph.D. Student | Computer Science
zhyw86@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Portrait of Mengrui Zhang

Mengrui Zhang
Bioinformatics Specialist
Ph.D. Student | Computer Science
mengrui.zhang@uga.edu
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

 

Interns

 

IMG_2661 (2)

Misha Ul-Islam
GGBC Intern
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Grace Pic

Grace Rountree
GGBC Intern
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

IMG_8290

Ariel Caudle
GGBC Intern
(706) 542-6409 (voice)

Payments and Invoices

University of Georgia arch with shield favicon

Hanna Dockery
Accounting Assistant
385 Will Hunter Rd.
Athens, GA 30602
hanna.dockery@uga.edu
(706) 542-2411 (voice)

University of Georgia arch with shield favicon

Frances Young
Manager, ORSS Business Services
385 Will Hunter Rd.
Athens, GA 30602
fkyoung@uga.edu
(706) 542-2411 (voice)

Former Employees & Interns

Roger Nilsen

Roger Nilsen
Laboratory Manager
rnilsen@uga.edu

Katherine Sanlin

Katherine Hardigree
Laboratory Technician 
kcsand@uga.edu

Estenfania Olivar

Estefania Olivar
Laboratory Technician 

 

IMG_0286

Abby Polakovic
GGBC Intern

 

35709-007.dng

Marissa Howard
Laboratory Manager
mahoward@uga.edu

35176-012.dng

Noah Workman
Laboratory Manager

Garrett profile_pic

Garrett Cooper
GGBC Intern
gwc32007@uga.edu 

 

 

Randy Kim (2)

Randy Kim
GGBC Intern
RandyKim@uga.edu

Former Directors

Jim Leebens-Mack

Dr. Jim Leebens-Mack
Professor
Dept. Plant Biology
2502 Miller Plant Sciences
Rm 2101
Athens, GA 30602
jleebensmack@plantbio.uga.edu
(706) 583-5573 (voice)
(706) 542-1805 (fax)